Ambulatory Anesthesia Fellowships

Program Requirements

Are you interested in pursuing a fellowship in Ambulatory Anesthesiology? Visit the Fellowship Program Requirements page today.

Fellowship Taskforce

Learn more here about the Fellowship Taskforce established in 2006 to create the SAMBA Ambulatory Anesthesiology Fellowship Program.

Fellowship Curriculum

Visit the Fellowship Curriculum page today to learn more about the curriculum created by the Fellowship Taskforce for the SAMBA Ambulatory Anesthesiology Fellowship Program.

Fellowship Locations

Brigham and Women’s Hospital/Harvard Medical School
Department of Anesthesiology, Perioperative and Pain Medicine
75 Francis Street – CWN L1
Boston, MA 02115
Telephone: 617-732-8222
Fax: 617-277-2192
Director: Dr. Richard D. Urman

Cleveland Clinic 
9500 Euclid Ave.
Cleveland, OH 44195
Telephone: 216-444-1192
Fax: 216-444-9247
Director: Dr. Walter Maurer

The Johns Hopkins Medicine 
601 N. Caroline Street
Baltimore, MD 21287-0712
Telephone: 410-955-1677
Fax: 410-614-3198
Director: Dr. Tracey Stierer

Department of Anesthesiology 
Duke University School of Medicine, combined regional ambulatory
Duke Medical Center, Box 3090 #4
Durham, NC 27710
Telephone: 919-668-2051
Director: Dr. Stephen Klein

Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine 
251 E. Huron St. F5-704
Chicago, IL 60611
Telephone: 312-926-8105
Fax: 312-926-9206
Director: Dr. Shireen Ahmad

Ambulatory and Regional Anesthesia Fellowship
Women’s College Hospital, University of Toronto
76 Grenville St, Toronto, ON M5S 1B2
Tel: 416-603-5800 Ext. 2002
Fax. 416-603-6494
Director: Dr Arun Prasad

University of Iowa College of Medicine, combined ambulatory  and regional 
200 Hawkins Drive
Iowa City, IA 52242-1079
Telephone: 319-353-7517
Fax: 319-353-7632
Director: Dr. Peter Foldes

University of Wisconsin 
B6/319 600 Highland Ave.
Madison, WI 53792-3272
Telephone: 608-263-8100
Director: Dr. Jeffrey Leeuside of a hospitals or surgery center.

The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center
Department of Anesthesiology
N437 Doan Hall
410 W. 10th Avenue
Columbus, OH 43210
Phone: 614-293-8487
Fax: 614-257-2102

The Ohio State University (OSU) Department of Anesthesiology offers a unique and innovative anesthesiology fellowship that combines firsthand clinical experience caring for patients in the ambulatory surgery setting with training in management and executive leadership. A unique aspect of the fellowship is the opportunity to earn an Executive MBA from the OSU Fisher College of Business, providing fellows with skills that are vital to successfully leading an organization. The program is a two-year commitment with 50% of the fellow’s time devoted to clinical anesthesiology as an attending physician managing a wide variety of mostly ambulatory surgery cases at several OSU outpatient facilities. The other 50% of the fellow’s time is spent in non-clinical work including research, administrative meetings and the completion of a 17-month Executive MBA. Another exceptional component of the fellowship is the chance to participate in the development of 4 new ambulatory surgery centers that will be under construction from 2019 through 2024 with several more planned for the future.


Interested physicians may obtain more information by email:




Basem B. Abdelmalak, MD, FASA

Basem B. Abdelmalak, MD, FASA is a professor of anesthesiology at Cleveland Clinic Lerner College of Medicine. He has served in the Department of General Anesthesiology as a Staff Anesthesiologist since 2001. Currently he leads Anesthesia Services for Bronchoscopic Surgery as a NORA service and is the Director of the Center for Sedation implementing the anesthesiology oversight for procedural sedation. He frequently performs the Therapeutic Whole Lung Lavage procedure to treat pulmonary alveolar proteinosis patients.

Dr. Abdelmalak is board-certified in Anesthesiology and fellowship trained in Critical Care medicine. His many clinical interests include anesthesia for ENT and bronchoscopic surgery, difficult airway management.

He served the Ohio Society of Anesthesiologists as its president in 2015 and currently serves the American Society of Anesthesiologists (ASA) as the Vice-chair of the educational track subcommittee on Ambulatory Anesthesia, the Society for Head and Neck Anesthesia (SHANA), as a founding member, and its president

At the Society for Ambulatory Anesthesia (SAMBA) he served in many roles and capacities; as a member of the committees on the Annual meeting, NORA, and Finance, and chair of the Development committee for the past 7 years leading SAMBA’s relationships with corporate sponsors, and pharmaceutical and industrial supporters. He then served on the Board of Directors, as a director, Vice President, President –elect, and now as its President.

He is also a part of the Anesthesiology Outcomes Research Department. His research interest is focused on the study of perioperative glycemic management, and he has been the primary investigator of many research projects investigating this and other topics.

He has received numerous honors and awards, including being named one of America’s Top Anesthesiologists according to the Consumers’ Research Council of America and Safety Champion by the Cleveland Clinic Quality Institute. A frequently invited lecturer at national and international conferences, Dr. Abdelmalak authored many scientific articles and book chapters in his field, and recently co-edited two textbooks titled Anesthesia for Otolaryngologic Surgery and Clinical Airway Management; An Illustrated Case Based Approach by Cambridge University Press.  He continues to be heavily involved with the education and training of medical students and residents and recently received the Scholarship in Teaching Award from Case Western Reserve University.